Where did tasmania come from?

Tasmania is named after Dutch explorer Abel Tasman, who made the first reported European sighting of the island on 24 November 1642. Tasman named the island Anthony van Diemen's Land after his sponsor Anthony van Diemen but It was officially renamed Tasmania on 1 January 1856.

---

tasmania come from Abel Tasman